120 gallon set-up
Reef Octopus protein skimmer
Reef Octopus calcium reactor
Milwaukee CO2 regulator + ph controller
Aqueon Pro Flex Sump with Coralife Turbosea 790p pump
dual 400 watt metal halides w/ actinics and moon lights
JBJ Arctica chiller
Other odds and ends.

My tank (pictured below) has Candy Canes, Duncan corals, green star polyps, leathers, hammer corals, favia, open brain, Cinnamon palythoas, sun coral (orange and pink), plus a couple of sps corals, birds nest, bali slimer, etc.....basically a lot of whatever looked cool at the time.

Well my reef ego was ruined by 3 things.
1: Aiptasia has been present (9 peppermint shrimp did nothing for the plethora, a CBB fish did not survive long - it was immediately bullied by a punk damsel and within a day lost a tail fin. Stress ultimately took it down)
2: realizing education is key and a I am a mere beginner in the hobby.
3: I had the opportunity to see Reeferman's tank first hand. I am a humble peasant to this guy's knowledge and he has inspired me to take this rascal to the next level.

A few goals I want to achieve.
1: I would like to have a predominate SPS tank with a select few LPS, brain's, soft stuff.
2: be pest free. Mainly aiptasia and mantis shrimp free. I have recently located 1 very small mantis shrimp. mean little fella.

Now, HOW to get there?

Replace all the rock with pest free rock?
Frag everything and nuke my rock?

There is tons of potential and for some reason my creativity is slacking.

Anyone have any guidance or suggestions? I know there has to be a few folks that have been in my predicament.

Thanks.

IMAG0182.jpg
alt="" />

Your tank looks pretty amazing to me! I've had great luck with pep shrimps.

I'd try to trap the damsel and sump him and get another cbb.

FF337;698511 wrote: They are about the size of a reeses cup ;)

which I'm now craving.. thanks