Curious question about frags

washowi

Market
Reaction score
I see alot of threads about frags for sale.....Since we are a hobby and friends for the most part, and the corals grow basically for (free)... and corals do need weeded out from time to time...

Why do people/you charge for them? We are a hobby and should help each other out and offer and give frags when we can..At least that's what I think.."I have some extra this or that"

If somebody's tank crashes, everyone offers free stuff to the victim...Then you see Frags for sale later on... and SMALL FRAGS at that for like $20 that I would never pay for in a fish store.....

Again, not banging people that do it, but I will never go there.....but always wondered why you Sell instead of Give?

One exception, when somebody is getting OUT of the hobby and selling everything, that a little different......

Curious

I agree. I am relatively new to the hobby but I can't imagine selling frags when the time comes. I am totally addicted to this hobby and want to promote it and help other people enjoy it as much as possible.

i agree and disagree sometimes we pay a ton of money for corals and we go way out of our way to get them. So if you are to sell a frag of that expensive coral to somewhat recover your cost I dont see that as a bad thing. Now some people without naming people sell things way over priced and I dont think that is right. I have never actually sold one of my corals but I have traded my corals for some LR and that worked well for everyone. I would love to see more trading or even donations to people just because well like you said we must trim our corals from time to time. Another thing is that alot of people like myself a recent college grad with my first real job money is tight and its hard to buy those expensive corals so if more people would give instead of sell im sure that would help alot of people in my situation.