Do I have spiders in my tank?

prissy_tang

Reaction score
I was checking on my fish and corals and noticed somehting strange floating on top of the water. They looked like tiny little carcases of some kind of bug. I thought they were dead since they were on top of the water (like water bugs do at a lake). But last night, I found two more and dipped my finger in to get it out and when I got it out, it is ALIVE! They are tiny little light brownish colored spider looking creatures, legs, small body - just like a spider would look. I just lost two clownfish on Sunday and my yellow tang died Monday of black ich. Is this related to black ich? I am a newbie and my friend who set up for me (ARC member also) has no idea what these things could be. I looked at the isopod discussion and they do not look like that. Any ideas? What do I need to do to treat? All of my corals are doing great and I have one blue damselfish remaining and it seems fine too.

Heartbroken, no longer prissy tang....

Tina,
Sorry for your losses. I agree with Big D, I would think this is an outside source. Check around your tank for any evidence. Eww I hate spiders!!

Big D;38571 wrote: <span style="font-family: Comic Sans MS;">Not sure if this is the site you looked at for an ID or not, if not than this might help if they are swimmers...</span>

<span style="font-family: Comic Sans MS;">http://www.museum.vic.gov.au/crust/page1.html">Link </a><<<---</span>

<span style="font-family: Comic Sans MS;">Big D</span>[/QUOTE]

Doesn't look like any of these, and I doubt I will be able to take a picture because they are very small. I will check around the tank for spider webs, maybe there was one and spider eggs hatched or something and fell in.....eeewwww!!! :shout:

does it look like this??

a>

glxtrix;38586 wrote: does it look like this??

http://www.melevsreef.com/id/pycnogonid.html">http://www.melevsreef.com/id/pycnogonid.html</a>[/QUOTE]