First Salt water tank

nolan71416

Market
Reaction score
So I'm new to the reefing community and have been wanting to get one for years. I finally gave in since my new, and first, baby loves fish tanks. I was able to get a used 36 gallon bow front tank and stand and fin lay got water and rock in it. I'll post on here updates prob every couple days and look forward to any advice from y'all. So I have read to put the sand in after the rock and before water to help with cloudiness. I however didn't do that bc I forgot about the sand until the tank was 2/3 full. I'm using a aquaclear 70 HOB filter and have a 1400 GPH powerhead for the tank. I'll prob have to get a slimmer soon and plan on fish and coral for the tank. The rock is dry rock and the sand is fiji pink live sand plus I put a bottle of bacteria in the tank to help the cycle start up. Here are pictures about 10 hours after I filled it and it's starting to clear up already which I'm excited about.
<fieldset class="gc-fieldset">
<legend> Attached files </legend>
1107624=69718-IMG_3378.jpg
>
1107624=69718-IMG_3378.jpg
class="gc-images" title="IMG_3378.jpg[/IMG] style="max-width:300px" /></a> </fieldset>

Tank has cleared up a bunch over night.
fieldset>

Welcome! What are you using to create ammonia for the bacteria? Some use a piece of shrimp, but I had great success using Blue Ribbon ammonia.

I used a bottle of BIO-Spira start up with live nitrifying bacteria.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Thanks to both of you. And I will ask lots of questions once this tank starts to cycle and plan on posting pics every 2-3 days. Fixing to add some more rock that will go into a 10 gallon tank for my hole office desk. That tank will prob be a hospital tank or might put a small pair of clowns or damsels plus a few corals. Figured the rock got cycle in the big tank and then I'll move 5 gallons or main tank water plus new saltwater to the 10.