Fish with ich

ptreef

Market
Reaction score
Been dealing with ich for a while now, trying to treat with metro and focus but it doesn't seem to be going away any time soon. This morning, it looks like the parasites are coming out of the skin on my powder blue tang.

All fish are eating great and seem to acting normally. Is there anything I can do besides waiting it out? QT doesn't really seem like an option at this point. Heat in the room is a major issue

this is my first foray into saltwater, so my advice could be completely invalid.. but in freshwater, I always had great luck by keeping the lights off, or low, cranking the heat up slowly to the upper range of tolerable to your fish and increasing salinity. I've actually never used medications for ich and this works every time.. for me... again, I'm a noob.. so, this could be completely wrong advice for a Marine setup. I think you're probably nearing the end of the infestation if you can actually see them protruding from the skin but your fish are acting normally. I'd have some other folks weigh in.

Reefers?

Marine Ick and freshwater ick are NOT caused be the same organism. What works in freshwater is completely irrelevant for marine fish.

Cryptocaryon</em> infections are best treated by cupramine or by the tank transfer method. All fish must be treated in order to eradicate ick from your tank.

Cryptocaryon has a wide tolerance range for salinity and temperature.

When the white spots "disappear" from the fish this IN NO WAY means the infection is over. This is a simple progression of the lifecycle of this protozoan.

would running a large UV help? the tank is a 210, so the uv would be pretty expensive. i have a small one rated for half the tank size running in the sump, but i know it wont help a whole lot as far as free floating ich in the display

stacy22;972939 wrote: Marine Ick and freshwater ick are NOT caused be the same organism. What works in freshwater is completely irrelevant for marine fish.