Flow for seahorse

benpoole28

Market
Reaction score
The tank is a JBJ RL30, essentially a rimless biocude. The pumps were upgraded to 2 mj1200 over the original 2 mj600 pumps. I added a 240gph powerhead just to prevent dead zones at the bottom of the tank. Im wondering if i should put the original 600gph return pumps back in instead of the 1200's. The 1200's seem like allot, when the horses swim in front of the flow, the get blown around. Im new to horses so any advice is helpful. :up:

I'm not a seahorse person but have read a bit about them. IMO, I would go back to the 600's. My understanding is they won't fight the current to get to food. Hopefully a seahorse keeper will chime in.

Low flow all the way for seahorses. They're not really reef fish, at least in our sense of the word

I have some very thorough documents from Ocean Rider out of Kona, HI. I can send them along if you'd like.

Where do you want me to send it? The dude who ran the course, Pete Giwojna, really really really liked to elaborate on points.

Connie and I've been keeping seahorses for quite some time. 2-3 years. We have a 60 cube that we use 2 hydors 1250 on a hydors wavemaker. Our seahorses sometimes get in the flow but they can handle more than people realize. We keep acans, blastos, softies, and gorgonians with them. I also grew digitata with them

I've been doing allot of reading and that's the consensus I've found as well. But I've found my horses pinned against the overflow twice now with only the 2 mj600's running. I've backed it off to only 1 600 and haven't had that problem since. I'm going to add the 240gph powerhead back in and hopefully that will be perfect for them. I have some gorgs in there with them and plan to add some zoas when I find some locally. Wish I had some of the hundreds of polyps I sold 6 months ago.

Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk

Hippocampus erectus. Bought them from mysaltwaterfishstore.com. 2 mated pairs for $100.