Heater blow up poison? Any knowledge for help?

camellia

Supporting
Reaction score
My corals have got so much worse today. I'm assuming it's containment from the heater that blew up.
The heater cracked and a chunk of glass was off on the back side that was suctioned to my acrylic sump! Whatever is inside these heaters is now in my water!

I've been making water and I'm running carbon but I don't know what else to do.

If anyone has any experience, ideas or suggestions please let me know.

How depressing!!

I'm no expert, but I would think that the corals would react faster to an electrical charge in the tank then they would be a possible contamination from being exposed to a heater.

If I where in your shoes again (please no Caitlyn jokes), I would do a bunch of carbon and some Polypads ( check the color to see what they are adsorbing). But do small water changes, frequent and not large ones.
Oh and take heart, it's not the end of the world. Just going to be a pain for a little while.

your safe,
modern manufactures make these heater with the what if factor in mind, more than likely it a synthetic sand to transfer the heat from the heating coil to the glass tube.
carefully clean up all the glass and as much sand if it looks bad, other than that I wouldn't stress too much about it.

MYREEFCLUB0070;1067662 wrote: your safe,
modern manufactures make these heater with the what if factor in mind, more than likely it a synthetic sand to transfer the heat from the heating coil to the glass tube.
carefully clean up all the glass and as much sand if it looks bad, other than that I wouldn't stress too much about it.

+1. I'm not an expert on manufacturing heaters by any means. But anyone I have ever spoken to about heaters in the industry has assured me that heaters these days do not contain any materials that could "contaminate" your system. I also agree that I would faster blame the electrical current itself.

FF337;1067669 wrote: Was this the reason your breaker tripped ?