Help needed to start my first reef tank.

pkaugusta

Market
Reaction score
I am totally new to the saltwater area. So after seeing a CL ad on a used tank , decided to dabble in to it. According to the ladty who sold me , this tank ran for several year. And when we had the ice-storm , the power failures killed all of it. Its a 75g RR tank (glass) . right now I am trying to figure what each of these parts are and what more is needed to start a tank. In addition to stuff shown here. I have a corallife actinic and 10,000k mixed light system with it.
<fieldset class="gc-fieldset">
<legend> Attached files </legend>
960744=54283-20140605_184929.jpg
>
960744=54283-20140605_184929.jpg
class="gc-images" title="20140605_184929.jpg[/IMG] style="max-width:300px" /></a>
960744=54285-20140605_184952.jpg
>
960744=54285-20140605_184952.jpg
class="gc-images" title="20140605_184952.jpg[/IMG] style="max-width:300px" /></a> </fieldset>

The first looks like an old protein skimmer. The second is a drain pipe for the overflow.

ok thanks . I am near national hills. Thanks for the offer. I will let you know when I am available .

http://s1290.photobucket.com/user/Prasanna_Kumara_PK/library/">http://s1290.photobucket.com/user/Prasanna_Kumara_PK/library/</a>

so will this be enough for me to start the reef tank ? (accessories)

you can see the old-fashioned filer under the hood. any comments on that ?

the filter looks like a two stage. with mechanical ( layer of sponge) and bio-balls next to it.

If it were me, I would ditch the bio balls and put matrix/pond matrix in its place. Have any powerheads?

Congrats! You have now made the plunge, now you have an incredible amount of reading//research to do. Take your time and get him to come over it will help 1000%!!