Help with crashing system

saltwaterwannabe

Market
Reaction score
I have been fighting cyano and diatoms for a few months in my DT. Now I am also fighting popeye, fungal, and bacteria infections - and some ich. I have had to dispose of 13 fish and cannot find 3. I have not counted in a couple of days, but by the last count, I have lost many corals, not counting the small barely larger than frag corals. I need help and I cannot come back from another total system crash again. I am writing a summary of the past couple month's efforts.

The system has been up and running for about 1.5 years, a little longer if you count the rock curing. I have had a little over 30 fish in it since 2 Thanksgivings ago. About 660 gallons total volume in a 210, 240 rock fuge, 60 cheato fuge, 30 frag, and 120 sump.

Process has been to reduce feeding, do a couple small wc's weekly by vacuuming off the rocks and sometimes the sand, followed by blowing everything off with a pumphead so the wc gets anything left. I also added a phosban reactor back. The cyano started returning within a couple of days to start with, later lasting over a week before returning. I was gaining ground and thought I had about won for a couple weeks then it all started coming back again, only faster.

At this point I started a more thorough cleaning regimen on the rest of my system, starting by removing and swishing the rock from my 240 rock fuge in clean saltwater and storing in a separate tank for a few days, keeping the 240 offline. I added an ammonia alert dial and started dosing prime since I reduced my bio filter by removing the rock and taking the 240 off line. At this point, I noticed my ORP drop from the upper 300's to under 100 very fast, so I swished the rock off again and moved the rock to my sump and cheato fuge. The ORP came back up almost overnight. There were only minimal cyano and diatoms through this process.