I Fired My Filter Socks!

urbanknight

Trustee
Staff member
Supporting
Reaction score
I don't wash filter socks anymore! I cut the plastic top off of my filter socks and siliconed them to the top of a plastic bottle that I cut the top from. The bottle fits down into the hole where the filter sock goes. I drilled about 20 holes in the plastic bottle. I stuff it with filter floss. After 3-4 days, I simply take the floss out, toss it and insert new floss. Works like a charm and traps more sediment that the socks did.

That's a great idea Doug! How much flow are you running through the bottle/floss?

Adam, I went back and counted the 1/4" holes I drilled in the bottle. There are 25. I haven't installed my flow meter yet but I'm running am Ecotech M1 at 75%. The new set up has not impeded my flow or caused any problems with my skimmer that are visible. I've been using this new filter system for about two months now.

Love the idea so i researched other examples. There is a guy in Australia making these in acrylic  but it would cost a lot more than I'd. like to pay at the moment with shipping them here. So I decided to do a little DIY too.  here's what I built using materials I purchased off eBay. It's not perfect but it works and I didn't have all the tools for acrylic work. Prototype in testing with half of the sock being Matrix and the remaining amount filter floss.

I am currently using them in the stock Trigger Emerald sock plate with 3 holes  I have a sock in the first hole to polish the water and then these in the next two. My thought is once the sock gets dirty and clogs it will be forced into these two and will be a test to see how long it take for them to clog if at all. I'm running a Neptune Cor 20 pump on 100 percent

>

Nice work guys.  I'm interested now, have a sump with 4 hole 9" sock filters, not willing to add more extra to the maintenance chorus.