Moving everything from a 55 to a 75 HOW?

littleclownfish11

Market
Reaction score
I'm still new to this hobby and I have a 55gal thats been set up since March and I just got a 75gal so I would have more room for stuff I want to add as time goes on and I was wondering how I need to go about moving everything from the 55 to the 75? What kinda of process do I need to go through to do this so I make sure everything stayed happy and healthly from one tank to the other.

Use new sand, fill the new tank and get all the parameters RIGHT (meaning the same as your old water) before you move any livestock (temp, pH, SG etc). Then move the rock and once the cloudy water clears, fish and corals. If done right, this is no harder on anything than doing a 100% water change.

Some people advocate using some of the old water, but I think it's unnecessary and not the best way. If you NEED to use some because of logistics (unable to make 75g of new water, for example) then use the minimum.

cr500_af;664527 wrote: Use new sand, fill the new tank and get all the parameters RIGHT (meaning the same as your old water) before you move any livestock (temp, pH, SG etc). Then move the rock and once the cloudy water clears, fish and corals. If done right, this is no harder on anything than doing a 100% water change.

Some people advocate using some of the old water, but I think it's unnecessary and not the best way. If you NEED to use some because of logistics (unable to make 75g of new water, for example) then use the minimum.

yes!

but also supply some seachem stability & bio-gest....imho.

I am about to do a large move over as well. As already stated, these will my guidelines as well. As much as it doesn't feel like the right way, it will be the best way.

What would happen if I just used the sand that is already in my 55? My lfs said to just transfer everything over with my old sand and not to buy new.