Need help

ZapataInc

Supporting
Reaction score
Ok so I was talking with @jcook54 about what I thought was a Cyano problem. But I might have been wrong. So I really don't know what I'm dealing with. Here are some pictures with all whites.
MVIMG_20191221_154538.jpgMVIMG_20191221_154448.jpgMVIMG_20191221_154343.jpgMVIMG_20191221_131631.jpg
Any help would be appreciated. I don't know what to do moving forward bc I really don't know what it is.

I'm not a experts by no means but it looks like cyano I had enough to know my 220 bred it when I first started

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Thank you @civics14 I didn't want to say it. Tru reading this Lawrence and hopefully someone else will weigh in also.

Hard to tell in the pic. But I personally wouldn't worry just yet. Your tank is still young and establishing itself. I've found it never hurts to up the flow, blow off the rocks and try to get it thru the overflow into a sock. As for the sand bed you can take your gravel cleaner/syphon direct the flow into the sump into the filter sock and skim the top layer off the remove the sock, then test nutrient levels.

Nice pics btw, too bad it has to be on a problem but you'll be taking awesome pics of crazy colored SPS in no time. I think it's diatoms and here's why:
  1. In my experience, cyano grew much more like a "mat" and there weren't that many long stringy things. When I had diatoms, they were more spaced out and stringy.
  2. Diatoms make sense given the age of your tank. It's been running for approximately 90-100-ish days? Seem like you're right on track for some of the new tank uglies like a diatom outbreak followed by maddening GHA.
  3. When I've dealt with cyano, it's been red. So many of the things we deal with like this are brown, brownish, or rust colored that it's hard to even describe but the cycano that's I've dealt with was red.