Need some help and advise

terrimorgan

Reaction score
Hi all, I am new to the hobby, and have recently, in May, purchased a 72 gal bow front. I transported everything home, have it up and running, have added a few things, and it is doing great, and WOW have I learned a lot in a short time. But.......I am trying to find out if the "florescent bulb" is working that the water flows through to kill bacteria. I have looked it over, and cannot tell. I can tell it is working because of the humming and slight vibration, but no idea if bulb is on.

I would like to know if there is anyone out there that wouldn't mind coming by to give me some pointers on this set up. I live in Acworth at the corner of Acworth Due West and Cobb Park Way. I think I have done everything appropriately, but sure would like some reassurrance. I am willing to pay small fee, give drinks, cook, what ever will entice someone to come help!!! :) I will be at the cook out today, and look forward to meeting others in the same hobby.

Terri Morgan
678-687-8596

Hi Terri, Welcome to ARC!

Do you know the brand of the UV sterilizer you have? Most have a way to see if the light is on - either a little "window" or a part of the unit is made of clear or opaque plastic so one can see the "glow" if the lamp is lit. Often it's at one end of the unit.

If you can ID the brand of the unit, we can probably help you troubleshoot right here.

Cheers,
Jenn

Hi Jen,

Thanks for the response. No, it appears to be home made. I am just worried to start taking it apart because if water goes everywhere, I will be at a loss. I did open the end caps and can see end of bulb where posts are. Really at a loss at what to do. May be wise just to purchase another one.

Yeah!!!!! More girl power! Welcome to ARC! :)

See ya this afternoon.

You may receive mixed opinions on this... so here's mine :)