New Nano Family

mtnclimbers5

Reaction score
Hello all,

Our family has just gotten an Oceanics 14g Biocube and would like to develop a nice peaceful nano-reef environment. My wife is currently battling advanced cancer and we all thought this would be a nice theraputic project to do together. We also have three <u>very excited</u> children about the project! We would like to keep some soft corals, mushrooms, etc and a couple of reef friendly fish. The tank is up and running now for 48 hrs with 16lbs. live sand and about 8lbs. live rock. I've read that the corals really need high flow and strong light to thirve and we currently are using the stock pump (137 gph) and lights (1x24w Actinic and 1x24w 10000) plus the little moon LED's. Can't really afford to upgrade the lights right now but could swing a pump with a higher flow rating if that would help, any suggestions?

Also, any suggestions on soft corals or livestock would be welcomed as I am completely new to this hobby! Look forward to participating in this great resource!

I am new also but it looks as if your off to a good start. This is a great place to get information on reefs and fish keeping. Welcome to the forums! I would recomend becoming a member it may help you save some money and it benefits the reef club too!

Welcome!!! Your setup should support most soft corals and some LPS (mine does quite well)!
If your in my area I'd be happy to supply ya a frag or two to kick ya off, when your tank is ready of course...

Just let me know!!!

Welcome Aboard!!! I Agree That Lighting Would Be Good For Lower Light Corals Like Mushrooms Softies Zoas And Things Of That Nature. Checking Out Arc Is A Good Start. When Your Waters Perameters Are In Check I'll Also Give You A Couple Of Frags! Once Again Welcome