New to the hobby/ is it a mistake

dan8a

Reaction score
I'm new in this hobby. I purchased a 120 gallon reef tank about 10 weeks ago, I have 6 fish and about 6 small corals. So far I had 2 scares that stressed me out, but I was able to get it under control. This hobby is costing me more money than I thought and it's consuming a lot of my time. My question is as long as I do my water changes and maintenance, will things get easier or is it just a matter of time before I have some kind of big outbreak that is going to cost me hundreds of dollars?

I'm starting to feel that the beauty that God created in the bottom of the ocean is more difficult to reproduce in our homes than people think. It seems like the ones who are very successful in this hobby have years of experience. If it is a matter of time, I rather sell it all now before I pump hundreds of more dollars into it.

Get out and run everything in this hobby is money and time..everytime I turn my head it's 700 dollars.it's not for everyone and this hobby is maintenance and money.for me the joy is taking care and growing corals and fish.i have had a few buddies get in the hobby after seeing my tank to find out that the time and effort was to much for them.

It will never be set it and forget it. I've had several tanks and so far my 5g office thank has been pretty stable as far as fish and corals. I don't have anything major in it, but no scares, no $700 unexpected expenses.

My 93g at home, turned in to a temp 55g and is soon to be a 150g. It's not cheap and pretty time consuming. If you have neither time or money to spare, you should get out. It will just lead to disappointment.