Newbie planning for 1st Reef Tank...

giulianom

Market
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I have been tinkering with freshwater tropical tanks for a few years now, and I have been wanting to delve (dive?) into saltwater tanks.

Specifically, I want to do a coral tank with some fish and other assorted critters, and I'm looking for some advice on where to start.

Questions:

Should I get an acrylic, or glass (normal, or sapphire/starphire)?

I think I'd prefer acrylic, but I am not sure with the scratching, etc..

I'd love to start off with a larger tank, something 4' to 6' wide to display in my living room, perhaps in the 90+ gallon range, preferably rectangular.

It would be located on the 1st floor of my house (built 1986), over a garage, and probably located against an outside wall - do I need to be concerned with weight for a larger tank?

I'm not sure what's "best" - 90? 120? 135? - in terms of physical dimensions, tall vs shallow, etc..

Also, I have been reading over at Garf.org about their "bullet proof reef" with the deep sand bed and plenum... Is that actually viable, or is a sump + refugium or something else best?

I am a patient person, and I'm willing to start out large and wait the requisite weeks/months to get everything cycled properly.

I'm in Lawrenceville, and have been to the LFS nearby - Avarium, Nemo Fish, Atlanta Aquarium... Lovely places. :)

Suggestions / advice welcome. :)

IMO a 4x2x2 120 makes a amazing reef tank. I am not 100% on the weight issue I would think it would be okay going against the floor joists. I think the whole deep sand bed thing is a preference, I prefer to have a 1-2 inch sand bed. Sump + fuge would be the way to go imo.

Take it slow and do it right the first time.

Welcome!