PAR Wars

pfritzbelly

Market
Reaction score
Below is a link to what might be the nerdiest argument (and I am a network admin, so I have heard some whoppers) that I have ever seen in a reef forum. Both sound like well educated individuals that are VERY passionate about the hobby. While I respect the views and claims of both sides, I don't begin to know nearly enough on the topic to assess the veracity of their claims. I just wondered if there was a reasonably priced PAR meter out there and found this......

viewtopic.php

Those "nerds" arguing are some of the biggest names in the reefing historical community!

I never called them nerds. I said the argument was nerdy. I am well aware of who they are.

jmaneyapanda;190829 wrote: Those "nerds" arguing are some of the biggest names in the reefing historical community!
This doesn't mean they're not nerds! Indeed, it lends to the likelihood. :yay:

There has to be a critical point in the level of knowledge for people at which any two people at a sufficient level of expertise are going to sound that way. I hear it and contribute to it all the time in IT.... and yet two people start debating "World of Warcraft" and I am completely lost. It is like a different language.

Yeah, the hardcore guys in the BMW car club are like that for me. We struck a truce on the jargon. I don't do computer stuff too fast for them. They don't run on about car stuff too fast for this noob to keep up.

Wait, I dont understand what the issue is. Do you not think that their thread is appropriate? Or too lofty? Or just not for you? I really enjoyed that thread. It is not anyones fault that some dont like/enjoy/understand it, is it?

FWIW, I certainly wasnt being critical in my first thread, I simply didnt know that you knew who the players were.