PH Help

petrasb

Market
Reaction score
Hello all,

I am new to this. I haven't been able to keep my Ph up above 8.0. It seems to stay at 7.8 no matter how much Ph buffer I put into it and I am afraid that I have put too much Ph buffer in it, like a whole bottle over 1 week. So far I have lost one plate anemone, one purple seabae, one blue sponge, and my purple leather is looking down. My clam, Xenia, torch coral, and flame scallop, are not looking too bad yet. And the fish (9 of them) look very good.
My calcium is a little high about 500, but I was told this would get the purple coral line algae going, and it did.

I have had my 175 bow front set up for about 2 months now and I decided to add a 75 gal refuge next to my sump. I baffled it and filled it half way with water, then placed lbs of live sand with lbs of Bio sediment. I waited about 3 hours for things to settle and I think I should have waited for 2 or 3 days. My visibility is very bad in my display tank, but it looks like everything is covered in a white dust.

Has anyone else experienced this?
I finally got my lbs of premium live rock looking very good, and now it looks like I screwed it up.:sad:

I could have paid someone to set all of this up and keep it going every month, but I wanted to learn how to maintain and be successfully with a reef tank.
This is getting frustrating! No matter how many books that I read on this.

Thanks, looking for advise

Do you have a alkalinity test kit? You should always test your alkalinity if you are dosing products used to raise it. If you don't have a test kit, maybe you can take your water to a LFS to be tested? The pH issues your are having could be caused by issue other than alkalinity.

You can blow the dust off of the rocks and corals with a turkey baster or powerhead.