PH issues in a Biocube 32

db366

Reaction score
I have been dosing with All for Reef for nearly two months. I started for the first month at the dose of 5 ml per day. I check my PH using both a Salifert test kit and through an Apex. I bought a new PH probe and calibrated it using the solution from BRS after week one. My PH has stayed at 7.8 since I started dosing. I looked online and it says that it could be co2 or carbon. I run a bag of chemi pure elite, sized for the tank, as well as purigen. The tank is open top with just a mesh screen over the main display area, the sump is fully open. There is also a powerhead facing upwards causing quite a bit of surface agitation. After the first month of not seeing any results from the All for reef I started upping the dose. I went to 7 ml and saw a slight improvement, getting the ph up to 7.9. After a week of this I have now went up to 9 ml the addition has helped but it is not breaking to 8.

Weekly 4 gallon water changes are done using Reef Crystals.
The tank is mainly LPS with some softies and a few sps (monties)

Is it normal to have to does nearly double the quantity? Should I be looking for anything else that could be causing my ph to stay low? Maybe this product is just inferior?

All for Reef is not intended for pH, it is for dosing alkalinity, calcium and trace elements. Do you test for alkalinity and calcium?

I have checked those numbers as well but not this week. I might be just completely mis understanding the connections between alk and ph. I thought raising the alk raised the ph.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

In my experience, I still have to do Alk when also dosing All For Reef. It's possible that the Alk levels are low and this can cause the pH to be lower as well. Since you have a pH probe though, do you see the peaks and valleys in the pH that are normal for tanks when the lights are on vs. off? My pH will get down to 7.9 overnight but always bounces back one the lights kick on.