Phos issue

atticusfit

Market
Reaction score
so i have a new tank set up (jan.1), 72 gal and noticed my rock was getting covered in bright green as well as sand bed. talked to a couple of people and said this was normal. i tested Phos tonight and testing right at .16 with red sea test kit. any input on best and fastest way to drop this number??

LSU_fishFan;1074855 wrote: Gfo works well.

You could also try doing a water change.

newbie here so GFO? how is it added to tank, also do 10 gal water changes on Sundays

I would pickup some phosguard. just rinse it well in a mesh bag and throw it in your filter sock. It's always better to use half the recommended dosage. You should see a notable reduction quickly.

Bcavalli;1074859 wrote: I would pickup some phosguard. just rinse it well in a mesh bag and throw it in your filter sock. It's always better to use half the recommended dosage. You should see a notable reduction quickly.
and as far as the green on the rocks and the green matting on the sand bed?

atticusfit;1074856 wrote: newbie here so GFO? how is it added to tank, also do 10 gal water changes on Sundays

Gfo can be used in a filter bag placed in a high flow area, or in a reactor.

atticusfit;1074864 wrote: sorry chemipure blue or elite, not sure dif between two?

Both are good products, I use chemipure elite on my tanks. I believe the only difference is that elite contains higher levels of gfo.

LSU_fishFan;1074865 wrote: Both are good products, I use chemipure elite on my tanks. I believe the only difference is that elite contains higher levels of gfo.

would that be better than spending money on a reactor?

LSU_fishFan;1074855 wrote: Gfo works well.

You could also try doing a water change.

I do use GFO in a reactor but if you think it's a temporary issue, the above suggestions are good.

atticusfit;1074860 wrote: and as far as the green on the rocks and the green matting on the sand bed?