Powerhead Question

siavashv

Market
Reaction score
Hey guys. I am ordering a RedSea Max 250 and I wanted to get a powerhead to increase flow obviously. But I got a Koralife 1050 gph. I was wondering what you guys think about that? Is that a good size? or should I just go with a 1400 or bigger? I don't want to crowd the tank with two smaller powerheads but I wanted to know if the 1050 was good enough. I am totally new to the hobby and have never had a tank and trying to get the right equipment before I put it in. Any suggestions?

I had 2 Evolutions(1400) Koralia in a 90g. So, 2 1050's should be good...The new evolutions are smaller then the old K3's and 4's... You should be fine either way...

So you think I should get two 1050's? I thought just one would suffice. I do t know if the built in pumps are going to do all that I need but I would think that a single 1050 powerhead should do it. I am trying to get by with just one powerhead so that I don't have to crowd the tank up. But do you think it would be enough?

Built in pumps are not for flow but just to return the water back to the display. Your flow is really dependant on powerheads. So I would def go with two 1050's if not bigger pending on what type of coral you want to keep.

WOW! 2 - 1050 Powerheads?! I do not know what I want to keep exactly just yet, but if I need 2 - 1050 powerheads that is serious... The guy at the LFS said that the 1050 should be plenty.. but I guess that isn't really the case. I am starting slow but I really want to get my stuff (equipment) set before I start stocking stuff. For the time being I don't even have a ship date on my tank! So there is time to sort this stuff out. Thanks for the heads up... Anyone else have their input on the size and number of powerheads?