Ready to Dive in from Chatsworth

PJs_Bucket_List

Market
Reaction score
Hello there! I joined ARC a few weeks ago and have been lurking around the site, but haven't introduced myself yet. My name's Pamela. I'm new to the saltwater hobby, but I've had freshwater tanks, off and on, all of my adult life (currently have 2). Always wanted to try saltwater, but finances, time, and obligations didn't permit it.
Growing up dirt-poor in the Appalachian mountains of Eastern Kentucky, I was fascinated with the ocean, and spent countless hours reading and daydreaming about the life in the Deep Blue Wonder. Coral reefs, specifically. I couldn't wait for the chance to go scuba diving and see it, experience it for myself in real life. Circumstances, family, and life in general took me in a different direction, but I never lost my desire to see the reef up close. I told myself, "When the kids are all grown and out of the house, I'll do it. I have time."
In March of 2020, when my youngest was a junior in highschool, I got the shocking stage 4 diagnosis. Inoperable, no possibility of "cure" or "remission" in my future. Six months later, in October, I suffered a triple whammy of pneumonia, sepsis, and massive renal failure. The only reason I'm telling you this is because the very procedure that saved my life also took away any possibility of seeing a coral reef up close. I can't be submerged in water, period. No bubble baths, hot tubs, swimming... certainly no diving.