Reefbreeders Photon 48- I have no led knowledge!!!

rk4435

Market
Reaction score
Since my temp T5 has now become partially disabled I am going to go ahead and make the plunge and get an led light. I initially wanted Kessil lights and have slowly decided over the last few months to go in another direction mainly because of price.

The Reefbreeder 48 looks good but I am concerned with how it would work with my set up. I have a standard 90 gallon tank, 48 inches long.

Some of these questions may seem dumb, work with me.

Can a light like this sit directly on the glass covers or on top of the wooden braces that allow the canopy to sit on top of the tank? The reefbreeder model is 47.25 in length. So it works in theory. I do not necessarily want to hang the light. My custom made canopy flips open and my little princess likes to play ballerina and it trembles the tank.

What about optics? I have no idea what the difference is between 120, 90 or 60 degree optics.
<fieldset class="gc-fieldset">
<legend> Attached files </legend>
961240=54363-image.jpg
>
961240=54363-image.jpg
class="gc-images" title="image.jpg[/IMG] style="max-width:300px" /></a> </fieldset>

Optics will depend on mounting height. 120 will give a great spread and less spotlighting at lower mounting height. I prefer 120 regardless. If you need more par. Just increase the intensity. Leds are very bright even though it might not be apparent to our eyes

Also mounting hardware is very secure. It might rock a tad but the cables support hundreds if not thousands of lbs.

Dude let me know what you think of these lights because I have the same questions as you. I'm wanting to mount them in my canopy with my MH 250x2. I think they are priced great and have very good reviews. Please keep me posted

Thanks for the replies guys. I added a picture to make easier to understand. I have the hood propped open with a paint can. The doors are off and you can see the brace in the back for the canopy to sit on the aquarium.