Ro/di tds

jdavid

Market
Reaction score
I am kind of new to reefing (since feb) and haven't gotten my filter yet but I have been using RO/DI water. Well, I am about to set up my frag tank and I'm expecting it to need frequent water changes due to the setup. I do have some questions though
If I buy a cheaper RO/DI, I realize that is not the best road to take, but if I test the water after it is filtered with a TDS meter, that will tell me if the water is good, and when the filter cartridges are needing to be replaced, correct? What is an acceptable reading for RO/DI water? I assume it is PPM. Is there anything about tap water filtered through RO/DI that the TDS meter will not tell me?

secondly, is there any reason that this model is throwing my $ away, is there a better alternative in a similar price range, basically will this hold me over until I can invest in a better filter?

http://www.purewaterclub.com/catalog/product_info.php?cPath=95&products_id=270">http://www.purewaterclub.com/catalog/product_info.php?cPath=95&products_id=270</a>

Thanks!

Something about that unit only being $65 just isn't right. Your RODI unit/water is one of the most important factors in your tank and you should def not go cheap and cut corners on this one. The units last a very long time, I've been using mine for about 9 1/2 years. http://www.marinedepot.com/Captive_Purity_Deluxe_RO_DI_Filter_System_Clear_Canisters_24_to_40_Gallons_Per_Day_RO_DI_Water_Filter_Systems-Captive_Purity-CP1331-FIRORDFT-vi.html">http://www.marinedepot.com/Captive_Purity_Deluxe_RO_DI_Filter_System_Clear_Canisters_24_to_40_Gallons_Per_Day_RO_DI_Water_Filter_Systems-Captive_Purity-CP1331-FIRORDFT-vi.html</a>