Shrinking Anemones

scubadubado

Reaction score
Hi Everybody:

I'm relatively new to the hobby (6 months) and have a couple of BTA's that just don't seem to be doing that well. The best description of what's going on is that they just don't seem as big or as vibrant as they were when I first got them.

They each split soon after I got them. One of the juniors has crawled off into the rocks never to be seen again, the other is just hanging out. The (now) three of them are very laid back about accepting food.

Water params are good (I think). My test kit doesn't test for amonia, but my nitrate and nitrite are 0, PH is 8.2.

I have had a recent outbreak of ick. I first tried using a product called sulfathizole dosed in the food for about 1.5 weeks, but another hobbyist loaned me his UV and said that would take care of the ick in about a month. (Everybody's still eating and looking great.)

Since adding the UV sterilizer, I have been having problems with temperature raising up to the 82 to 84 degree range. I've done the fan on the back of the tank, which seems to be helping.

Anway, that's all I know. I really treasure these guys, and don't want to lose them. If anyone has any ideas, I would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks
Chris

Most anemones require intense lighting such as metal halides, and an established tank.

Many times they are best left in the ocean.

Agree, what type of lighting do you have and what size tank? I'm, sure the elevated temps are not helping things either.

I agree that halides are requred. Over the years, I have tried them under VHO and PC lighting (at very high watts per gallon too) and they never thrived for long. They always did great for a while then started moving around and eventually dissapered. I added one to my new system with halide lighting and they (it split) look better than when fresly added 9 months ago or so.