Stocking question

PJs_Bucket_List

Market
Reaction score
I'd like to get a Diamond goby, Flametail blenny, and a Fire fish. Would they get along, or are they too similar and will have issues? Does anyone have experience with keeping these fish together?

I've never kept Blennies but i expect all would be ok together. But I believe Diamond Gobies need large well established sand beds, I've heard numerous cases of them perishing in new tanks. Anyone else have thoughts on this?
Granted I'm new to all of this, but I've been doing a good bit of reading and have a theory about that. Totally agree with the established sand bed being necessary. They spend a lot of time sifting the sand in search of food (pods), which isn't available in a new tank. And they are often so focused on their sand sifting they miss out on feeding time. I've read that you have to feed them individually, and stay with the tank to make sure they get the food and it's not snatched up by other fish. So yeah, that's probably a "later on down the line" fish for me.

Really also depends on the tank size you have. If you don't have a mature sand bed, you might consider a Buan's Sleeper Goby. They're s somewhat smaller than diamond gobies and will perform the same service of sifting sand. Petco by the Mall of GA tends to get them fairly often and I believe they are captive-bred.

So all of the "Watchman" gobies are basically the same? Wheeler's, yellow, Pink bar... all require a mature sand bed and healthy, established pod population? Are all the "shrimp" gobies the same way? It's really confusing to new hobbyists, and unfair to the fish, that they're listed as "beginner" fish wherever they're sold.

Just a thought: would adding a few lbs of live sand from a place like Tampa Bay Saltwater help "mature" my sand bed faster? What do y'all think? I want to get one of their Treasure Chests for the biodiversity, so if it helps with that it's an added bonus.