SubFloor

sgt_slaughter

Market
Reaction score
I'm about to go from a 125 to a 230 or 280. I'll be pushing well over a ton at that point and am just looking to for someone with experience to say if my floor should be ok or not. I have no reason to think it wouldn't but would rather check now rather than find out the hardway.
The house was built in 2003, the joists are perpendicular to the tank and the tank will be close to the outside wall.
If this isn't enough info let me know.

I'm no structural engineer, but you'll need to also note what size lumber the floor joists are, and what their unsupported span is.

Good call, the span is 13' and the joist is plywood capped with what appears to be 1x2's to appear like an I-Beam.

I would also suggest hiring a structural engineer to come out and inspect the structure.

I had one come out, cost a few hundred dollars but what I got out of it was an analysis and improvement plan with drawings.

Then I DIY'd the reinforcements, using laminated veneer lumber for strength.

the math works out to about 280 lbs per square foot, which translates into about an average overweight human.
The description sounds a lot like a TJI joist, more info here: http://www.homeconstructionimprovement.com/selecting-tji-floor-joist-sizes/">http://www.homeconstructionimprovement.com/selecting-tji-floor-joist-sizes/</a>

The joists themselves should have little issue bearing the load, however you may experience deflection or 'bounce'. Adding another TJI joist at 90* to the existing joists between the tank location and the remaining portion of the room should alleviate this.
The space between grade of soil under your house and the bottom chord of the joists will dictate what options are available to support the joist. There are screw-jacks, Concrete block piers, and cribbing of lumber options. One thing to consider if you have to place concrete foundation pads is to get a termite retreatment in the disturbed area.