Suggestions Needed

judochop

Market
Reaction score
Well I have a 180g tank that I am installing as an in-wall aquarium. I need suggestions for the equipment list. I have no idea what I need for lighting. Maybe someone can suggest a couple good books? I plan to have corals eventually but not until the tank has matured for atleast 6 months or a year.

So far I have the 180g tank, 55g sump, mag drive 1800GPH return pump, ASM G-3 skimmer, 200w heater, 2 SEIO 2600s and thats it. I plan on having 200 lbs. of LR in the main tank and some in the sump.

Will I need more powerheads?
Is there an all-in-one lighting kit?
Do I need a UV sterilizer?
Do I need a Reefkeeper 2 as a beginner?

I am new to this hobby so let me know what else I need to get a GOOD start.

Regards,

Matt

I do not think you need a UV sterilizer because they kill unwanted things in the water but also things that you want in the water to feed the corals. I would get one more powerhead and have two in the front and put one in the back behind the rocks. that is working great in my 75 gallon. As far as good books definatly the book called The Reef Aquarium Book 3 by J.C. Delbeek and Julian Sprung. Dont think there is an all in one light kit. What kind of corals fo you want to evetually have?

I would definately say yes on more flow...

You can get away with 3x 250W MHs but 400s would be better (also alot hotter and more expensive to run). The cheapest setup would be retrofit and mount them yourself.

I agree that the UV is not necessary.

I definately reccomend the RK2 (especially if you havent bought a bunch of timers already. They really do make life ALOT easier.

You may also find that after setup it's possible that you might need a chiller. Just be aware as its a pretty hefty expense.

Ditto on what Tony said:

Don't get a UV sterilizer - it's not necessary and you'll just add heat to the tank.