T4 pump died, recommendations wanted

rhomer

Market
Reaction score
Hey guys,
My t4 pump died, I've cleaned it and it will start but won't continue to run, so my conclusion is that it is gone. I'm trying to decide between a few options and was wanted to get a few opinions.

First choice, do the same thing buy a new T4 pump.
Good points is that it is dead silent and I get plenty of flow.
Bad points is that it runs hot which causes me to have to clean it frequently.

Similar options is to replace the t4 with a Blueline 40 hd-x or a little giant 4gx. I have no experience on these pumps so any info on these would be great.

Other option would be to replace the closed loop with a few powerheads, but I hate power heads the look like crap, they eat fish, and leak voltage.

I just can't afford tunze, seio's are made by rio, and no one has the hydro 4's in stock.

Thanks for any help.

Rob

Are you sure it died? Mine would form a calcium buildup on the inner bell that looked like it was part of the pump. The only way to get it off was to soak it in vinegar for several hours and then chip it away with a screwdriver or chisel. The extra coating caused the bell to be too large for the volute, and so it wouldn't spin.

Otherwise, I would recomend a gen-x or iwaki pump.

I would stick with the T4 pump or an Iwaki if it was me. Im thinking about selling my Koralia 4's but IMO they would look really big and gawdy in a 90 gal. tank.

Mojo is correct on the calcium build up. If it isn't that, some people love the Panworld pumps and myreefcreations carries them so you can get a discount.

Thanks guys,

I just took the pump apart 2 days ago and cleaned it out. The pump runs so hot so the calc buildup is very quick and is a real pain to clean it out. I've got a lot of soot buildup in the center of the pump so I think it got damaged the last time it seized up.