Tank Size Selection for first Reef Set-up

maveri9720

Market
Reaction score
Hi all. Awesome forum. I am completely new to SW and reef tanks, well, not to mention, keeping aquariums in general. I have been doing the best that I can to search and learn here and on other forums. I also just bought "The Conscientious Marine Aquarist" and have started reading that.

Here's my situation:

My wife and I want to get a large size aquarium and start a reef tank. Today, I re-arranged the living room and was able to dedicate about 3/4 of one wall to this aquarium. Prior to this, I had a couple not so ideal locations, that limited my tank size, so today's breakthrough threw all my plans out the window.

I am contemplating getting a 75g or a 120g tank.

I would like to know what you all would do if in my situation and why.

Also, I am open to other tank sizes and the reasons why I should look at them.

I would like to do it right the first time and be content for years, then purchase small, then upgrade in a year, then upgrade again. But, I also don't want a 60000g just so I never have to upgrade.

I definitely appreciate everyone's help and advice.

Thanks.

http://www.atlantareefclub.org/forums/showthread.php?t=1046">Aside from having a 120 for sale at this time...</a> I still think that the 120 is the better choice BECAUSE...
1. the obvious greater total volume.
2. Having the 2ft front to back gives you much more options for aquascaping. (thats the big one for me)
3. more space = more LR = more filtration = more livestock = happy wife (how can you go wrong there?)

I'll let the others add their opinions...

I agree with Tony 100% - for pretty much all the reasons he lists. It's got a nice depth to it, and it's bigger than a 75g. The front-back depth will really come into play when you start to aquascape, and make it look much better. You'll most likely outgrow a 75. A 120-180 is about perfect.