Tim Woolston is right TUNZE -- Nuff Said

broreefr

Market
Reaction score
I attended the April meeting of the ARC at the Aquarium showcase. Its a three hour drive from Montgomery AL by the way. I really enjoyed the presentation on Flow by Tim Woolston.

I have been keeping freshwater fish for 22 years and started Reef Keeping about a year ago so I have so much yet to learn. I think I am off to a good start by joining this club.

Tim is really high on Tunze systems and I now know why. I just put a Tunze 6100 on my 75 gallon system and WHOA Nelly I had to break out the Aqua mend for some of the lesser secured corals LOL. It is to say a word AWESOME. I was able to remove the three (yep three) powerheads from the tank and STILL have better flow, alternating, chaotic, currents, and a SEVEN degree drop in temps from 81 to 74. First time I have had to use a heater on my tank in a while. :p

Thanks Tim and ARC

BTW I just this week ordered a 290 gallon 72 x 30 x 36 reef tank to be pick up in three weeks. Hopefully I will be able to get one or twenty questions on equipment answered here.

First is this - I will be using an undrilled 75 gallon tank for the sump with submersible mag drive md36 PUMPS (3600 gph) for the return. The LFS owner (who by the way is a prime example of why aquarists have forums to get the real truth) thinks I should use one pump for the system. I really would like to use two pumps, one on each overflow. What do you people think would be best.

To be honest, my head is hard enough that I will use two until I prove to myself that it wont work

The answer to you question is not how much water you can pump up into your tank (i.e. 1 or 2 pumps) its how much water the overflow will take.

A simple way to understand this is. Water returning from the sump to the tank is under pressure and water falling out of your tank is not. (Well thats not exactly true but its almost correct).