Tips or tricks for new tank.

ZapataInc

Supporting
Reaction score
So im hopefully going to beable to start filling my new 90 gal setup with water by this week. As this is my first time with a larger tank im just trying to get some tips or tricks for mixing the salt with the water. Do i just fill the tank and sump up with RODI water then dump in the correct amount of salt in an empty tank and then add the sand and rockwork? All I have is a 20 gal brute that I am currently using to mix salt when I do my water changes. When I set up my 40 gal AIO I did 5 gal batches bc i didnt have the brute. I setup the rockscape and sand before hand and added the mixed saltwater. I have live rock that i have been keeping alive in a cycled 10 gal tank with a HOB filter and I plan on moving my current live rock from my 40 to the 90. What did you do for your tank?

I bought a 50 gal rubbermaid at home depot for $20 to mix with. I keep it as a back up emergency holding tank just in case of disater.

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk

You can fill the 90 half full and mix in the salt with power heads and bring the water up to temp with a heater suspended in there. Then do your rock work and top off the tank with the water from the 40 and maybe the 10 too. Just don't suck up any detritus off the bottom of either tank. Draining down the 40 this way will make catching any fish you're going to transfer easier too, it'll also be less of a shock on the coral in the 40. You should also have the 20 Brute mixed up and ready if needed and make sure the salinity matches across the board.

Having something larger around is always good to have around in case you need mix a larger batch.

I put the ugliest/non-functional rock down first, then buried it all with the 60lbs of (washed) sand.

It took a while, but I used my sump pump and the 20gal to start off with, then mixed up 5 gallon buckets at a time. It took all day, but I'm glad to know that I have 67 gallons in the system.