Uncharted Lighting territory

seth the wine guy

Reaction score
I think I'm changing my lighting. Thoughts?
I'm looking to do a true MH/LED mix.
Either (2) 250w Radiums with (3) AI's
Or
(2) 400w Radiums with (3) AI's

Reflectors are Lumen Max Elite

This is going on a 47x24x25 tank.

The alternative I'm still considering is T5's in some configuration.

Heat and electricity are not a concern. I want to grow baby grow! And look good while I'm doing it. ;)

As you know, I am no expert but, the 6 lamp T5s I have have astounded me on what they have done for my tank. I went with the Wavepoint lamps. If the high dollar lamps are an improvement of the Wavepoint you couldn't prove it by me.

If the tank is 24" deep, I would probably start with the 250 watt blubs. If you have not bought the ballasts for those lights, I would suggest going with adjustable ballasts... that way if the 250 watt lights are not producing enough growth, switching to the 400's will be easy.

i'm currently running two 250w my over my 120 48x24x24 in lumenmax elites. I'm using xm 10k's. the growth is crazy but it needed 24 3w leds just to take yellow tint away. I love the growth but heat and energy are a concern for me which is why I'm switching back to all led. but I see no reason why you wont get great results with a mh led combination. 250w mh should be more than enough. the elites are great reflectors.

if all your looking for is growth, just cram more LED's on it.

If cost is an issue then go with some 400w 10k XM's for 4-5 hours a day when your not home and use LEDs for the rest of the time.

imo, if youre going with 250w go with phoenix, 400w then radium

I use to run 2 ai's in between 2 2 bulb t-5 lights t-5's were at 60deg angle ai at 90deg it worked good til I got my diy set up running