Using Genetically Modified Organisms to Save the Corals? Opinions, Please!

amirahj

Reaction score
Hello,
I'm Amirah. I am a graduate student at Georgia State University working with a lab group who aims to solve the problems of coral bleaching. Our project as of now revolves around the idea of us genetically modifying the coral symbionts (zooxanthellae) in order to protect the coral from bleaching events.

To elaborate, we are working to introduce genes in to the symbiotic algae that would in some way convey protection to the corals against bleaching. The thoughts is that we would eventually colonize coral in reefs with these genetically altered algae to preserve the coral reefs.

However, we are aware that not everyone who wants to preserve corals is ok with the use and release of genetically modified organisms. We are hoping to use this forum as a way to get a feel for how the public views using this method as a way to prevent coral bleaching.

Do you like this idea?
Does it seem safe?
Is it scary?
Do you have any concerns or caveats?

Please help us by responding to this thread with answers to the above questions or by posting your own questions, comments, concerns.

We look forward to this discussion!

Do you like this idea? If it works ya
Does it seem safe? Don't know enough about it but I guess
Is it scary? Not really
Do you have any concerns or caveats? Not really

Do you like this idea? Yes. Using science and tech to help protect our more vulnerable ecosystems is an goal that I can get behind.

Does it seem safe? I don't know enough about it but one the surface it sounds like a safe enough idea. GMO crops have saved millions from starvation and they've worked out pretty well.

Is it scary? No. I'm comfortable with GMO's being part of our modern society and a modified algae seems pretty tame when compared with some of the other GMO's that pop up in the news once in a while.