What happened?

skyking

Market
Reaction score
So I went out of town for 3 days and upon my return I find that my dual chamber MRC calcium reactor is bone dry, no water in the bubble counter, and my co2 tank, which was 75% full, is now empty. What could've happened? I Did an immediate 30% h2o change to bring my "off the charts" alk and calc levels down. Plan on another 30% h2o change today. Corals are ok but not happy at all. Fish We're very reluctant to eat but are getting their energy back. Any ideas or suggestions?

what were the parameters when you first saw that? and what are they now? a lot of things can happen in those 3 days. Is the co2 tank leaking? I'm no expert on CR (I'm in the process of setting 1 up myself) so I don't know what is the real impact if the CR does not run for 3 days.

Parameters were all within range and tank is mature and for the most part stable. Ive been having difficulty lately maintaining a continuous bubble rate in the bubble counter. I put a call into the manufacturer of my Milwaukee Regulator and he walked me through some poorly written directions. I made the recommended adjustments and left on my trip only to return home to find the problems I listed above. Somehow while I was away all of my Co2 purged out and my once full MRC Calcium Reactor Chambers are now both empty. Where did that water go? I am assuming into my system because there were no leaks on the floor around the reactor (or anywhere else). But how? and Why? Nobody was in my home while I was away. I am not worried about the CR not running for 3 days. Im wondering what caused it to dump all the reactor water and Co2 into my tank.

It sounds like your regulator filled the reactor with CO2. Are you using a controller?