Apex software update and Fusion

hnguyen

Market
Reaction score
I'm wanting to update my Apex to run fusion and was looking through the steps to do so. I've never done a software update on my apex personally and have always had an IT friend do it so I'm new to this. I'm on the neptune website and this is what I see.

1) Using the Apex web interface, back up your current configuration just in case something goes wrong:
Configuration Menu
Load / Save
Save Configuration

2) Download the Apex Flash zip file from here: http://www.neptunesystems.com/downloads/firmware/apex_4.33_BD14.zip">http://www.neptunesystems.com/downloads/firmware/apex_4.33_BD14.zip</a>, and double-click it to open it.

3) You MUST directly connect your Apex, using a network cable, to your home router. DO NOT use wireless. If connecting your Apex to your home router is not possible, see page 129 of the Apex Comprehensive Reference Manual for alternative options.

4) Disable WiFi on your PC. Commonly, on a laptop, there's a switch for this; alternately, WiFi can typically be disabled via a control panel in the menu bar.

Step 1 check, step 2 check, step 3..... I always have my apex hard wire with an ethernet cable to my game switch soooo (check????) Step 4 is where I got lost, it says to disable the wifi on my laptop, ok.... Do I need to hard wire my laptop to my game switch/router with an ethernet cable as well? I also have this red ethernet looking cable that came with my apex, can I use that and hook my apex directly to my laptop? I remember being told the red ethernet looking cable was used for firmware updates but not 100% sure on that. Any input and advise would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

You need to use the Ethernet cable to connect your computer directly to your router. No wireless connections for updates.

Not sure about apex connected to game switch, I would connect it directly to the router with an Ethernet cable as well just to be safe.