Arcylic sump

gmpolan

Market
Reaction score
First off, id like to know where the best place and cheapest place to purchase acrylic sheets would be at?

I think with the help of some other handy men, im gonna try to build a sump when i want i purchase a larger tank.
Now obviously i dont have any specs or size as for as what i want to do but i have been spending a great deal of time reading melvsreef in regards to building one myself.

Second off, how hard is this going to be?
Anyone have any expierence in doing so...?

Thanks, geoff

Curbell plastics is where I get my acrylic. They are located in Dallas Ga.
You will find people on both sides of the fence on this one. I have built numerous acrylic tanks both display and sump quality up to 160 gallons. I am a stair/cabinet maker by trade so some of the skills and tools needed I had already acquired through those trades. Some who have failed at it consider it difficult and those who have succeeded consider it not too difficult. lol I would consider it fairly difficult if you have never tried it. I think once you price the acrylic, solvent etc, you will find that the custom sump manufacturers are very competitive in price. If you just enjoy trying new things and learning then I say go for it as I am a fan of DIY. Please be prepared for a learning curve (big or small)! I will be glad to advise you on things I have learned via pm.
If it is quality and money savings driving your wanting to build it yourself then by all means you should consider a builder like My Reef Creations. Like I said the price will be competitive with a diy project if not cheaper when a you buy a second sheet of acrylic lol.

grouper therapy;443647 wrote: Curbell plastics is where I get my acrylic. They are located in Dallas Ga.