Building a Canopy

brisco15

Market
Reaction score
I've never done a project like this before so all suggestions are appreciated! I want to put a canopy on my 75 to house my LED fixtures. First questions involve hardware and paint. Any specific wood, salt resistant paint and or special methods of bonding ie. Glue or screws? I wanna start this project ASAP but don't wanna waste time or money doing it the wrong way. Thanks in advance. Anyone out there build canopies or rent there services out?

Wood glue and a Craig jig. I really like modeling my projects in Google sketch up before building to make sure I think through each piece.

Any specific glue better? Google sketch? Dont paint where im gonna glue id assume as well.

Most people paint after construction. Some will chalk the seams on the inside. I think the purpose is to keep moisture out of the seems. Sketchup is free software from google. Check it out on you tube!

I'm no paint expert but I just bought some to paint a stand that I have in the works. I bought valspar latex enamel from Lowes because another member used it and the paint job turned out great. I'm planning to use a good primer also. I'm probably going to do 3 coats of primer and two coats of the paint and a light sanding between each.

As far as wood goes, I've seen every thing from 2x4 construction skinned with 1/4" plywood (or bead board) to 3/4" plywood only. Personally, I'm making my canopy out of plywood. I think the finished product looks much better, and most of the reputable stand makers use the same (some get really fancy).