Cleaner Wrasse

linda lee

Market
Reaction score
Anyone have one? Worth having? Effective? Hardy?

LFS says they don't even carry them because "they just die and don't really do anything." But......... that's the LFS talking. Maybe what they really mean is "these fish are relatively inexpensive and not worth taking up space in our inventory."

I'm just getting into researching these, but wondered if anyone here has first-hand experience?

~Linda

They're supposed to have quiet specific diets with poor survival rates

a>

They can do quite well in an aquarium provided there are enough large fish in there to support their diet. Dave's tank in cumming which was on the tour of tanks had 3 such beautiful wrasses in his 240 gallon tank. They have very small mouths, which are adapted for picking parasites so although his did eat the frozen mysis, which is uncommon for these captive fish, they could only swallow the smallest of pieces at a time. In essence, it can work but not in the average sized aquarium.

On top of that, their removal from the reef is VERY BAD for the overall health of the reefs. It sickens me when I see one in a LFS!

I trhought when I added my six line wrasse in my tank that my clown fish would attack it, as my clown was the only fish in that tank for six months. I introduced the six line and after a warm up period, the six line started cleaning my clown fish, which makes my clown fish twitch in delight. The clown fish often follows the Six line around, begging for more cleaning.

The six line wrasse also helps keep bristleworms at bay, as I've not seen a bristle worm since I introduced the six line a couple of months ago.

My point is, a six line wrasse can do the function of a cleaner wrasse, is MUCH, MUCH more (Uber) hardy, and helps to keep cleaner wrasses on the reef where they can thrive and proper.