Clown fish question

Eric_n_Ga

Reaction score
So I've had this pair of clowns for a while ,the smaller one I be had for a couple yrs , he actually had another partner the jumped out as well.

My question is the surviving clown has always been the smallest of the pairs so I'm assuming he's a male . Although he's a few yrs old now so not really small anymore. I'm going to get a replacement tomorrow should I look for a larger one ,or a smaller one to put in with him ...or does it matter ?

These are ocellaris clownfish by the way.

Please take this with a grain of salt, I'm not a clown expert but I did recently ask this question to someone who I believe is. @percula doesn't get on much at all any more but he darn sure knows about clown. So, I have an o. clown in my frag tank and another one about the same size in my QT tank. I thought about putting them together and was told they would either harass each other until one of them goes or they will turn into a male/female pair. 50/50 chance. I didn't ask about selecting a different sized on but it makes intuitive sense to me.

I'd put a juvenile in. It will change to whatever the other is not. Or vice versa. Adding a fully mature fish seems riskier.

So I've had this pair of clowns for a while ,the smaller one I be had for a couple yrs , he actually had another partner the jumped out as well.

My question is the surviving clown has always been the smallest of the pairs so I'm assuming he's a male . Although he's a few yrs old now so not really small anymore. I'm going to get a replacement tomorrow should I look for a larger one ,or a smaller one to put in with him ...or does it matter ?

These are ocellaris clownfish by the way.
You may want to reach out to bobs. He is a clown breeder whom has threads in the Breeder’s Corner. You could also PM bobs?
- wannabee