Full Spectrum Arduino LED Build

jbadd99

Market
Reaction score
Didn't want to completely hijack a fellow user's thread, some I'm moving to my own for running progress, comments, and constructive criticism.

First off, I've been running two 120w Pacific Sun Black Pythons for three years now. They're great, except because I was such an early adopter, I don't get a full spectrum, only whites and blues. They're controlled through an onboard controller, which connects to my PC software via bluetooth. I suspect it uses PWM for dimming through a rather large slim driver that I've not been able to find elsewhere for a "copy" build.

I started reading about the Arduino reef project a few years back and it got me interested. It seems with enough tinkering it is just as, or more, configurable as a quality controller. It also gives me something to tinker with other than video games, which keeps the wife happy.

I started off by reading http://www.atlantareefclub.org/forums/showthread.php?p=849013#post849013">GiulianoM's thread</a> which got me thinking about it again. After selling my Rasta colony last week, I've got some discretionary tank funds and I decided to start gathering parts for my project.

I've also been reading up on another thread [IMG]http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2222702">HERE</a>, which has been VERY informative.

First up:

I already had an Arguino Mega 2560 board for another project that I've not yet started (a christmas light show), so I plan to use that for now, although I'm debating about using the same one as Giuliano, which has onboard ethernet pins. If I don't, I'll likely either buy a WiFi board or an ethernet board for the Mega I already have.

I bought 7x LDD-600H drivers and 2x LDD-500H drivers to drive the LEDs from a single power source, which I have yet to determine (It will depend on my final LED layout). These will be mounted on a PCB from the RC thread: