Hello! Im new to ATL Area, New Build....

torqued

Market
Reaction score
Hey folks,

I am new to ATL Area as of Jan, and live in Alpharetta. I have been into Salt/Reef tanks since 2004, and have been out of the scene for about 6 years. I am looking to do a new build here, and have already started ordering gear.

Current plan (subject to change) is a 180g mixed reef..

So far all ive purchased is an Apex controller, and a Vertex Alpha 200 skimmer and 40g breeder (likley for sump). Everything else is up in the air at this point.

Thoughts on other gear:

Lighting - 3x Kessil 360we and considering a retro kit to mount two T5s in the canopy for more even distribution of light

Circulation/Flow - Undecided on return pump, and tank flow (considering the Gyre 150 and or Vortechs)

Calc/Alk Dosing - Undecided, I have had my best success keeping it simple with a dual channel doser and 2 part. Ive tried kalk, Calc reactors etc. Still considering dropping the $$ for a nice kalk reactor to use with a top off setup for the primary dosing. I doubt i will need more than that unless/until i get a great deal of SPS soaking up the alk/calc.

Substrate - Reefflakes

Rock - planning to use mostly dry rock (200lbs or so) (ive had pest issues with buying live rock historically + its alot cheaper).

Still undecided on the tank manf. I do not care for the standard "all-glass" overflows, and would prefer a bare tank drilled for a Ghost overflow, but exploring getting a custom build with an external overflow built on....

Stand/Canopy - likely custom built, though I am a very handy wood worker myself, so i may spend the time building them myself

Thats about it for now folks. I look forward to meeting some of you folks in the future!

For my reefing resume, feel free to check out my old 75g tank I had in my last home:
IMG_1898.jpg
alt="" />
Feb-19-2007