Lighting Requirements

gclackum

Supporting
Reaction score
I am new to the world of saltwater. I bought a tank and gear from a friend about 7 months ago. 125 gal w/ wet-dry. It currently has two 36" CF lights with 192 watts each (384 watts total). I would love to keep some beginner corals, mushrooms, zoos. Please let me know what you suggest. Do I have enough lighting? I have been changing 30 Gal of water every month. I now change 15 Gal every two weeks. I have 7 small fish; clowns, gobies, cardinals and a sailfin tang(3 in), also a condi and a bubble tip. All advice would be appreciated

:confused:

Hello and welcome to the site.

If my calculations are right you've got just over 3 watts per gallon of lighting which should be sufficient for some lps or soft corals for sure. More light is always a good thing though.

You didnt say how much live rock you had, most will recommend minimum of a pound or so per gallon for a reef and with good flow use it for filtration. I have not used one but I understand the wet/dry filter may eventually cause nitrate problems. Something to consider.

Welcome George,

It sounds like a you have enough light, but I would probably recommend a little more. You should be able to keep some low light corals though without much of a problem.

Another thing to consider is Power Compacts bulbs, aka Compact Flourescents, need to be replaced at least every year.

Good luck and keep us posted about your tank.

-Andy

I need to add some live rock, I have 70 lbs of live rock. Although a couple of pieces were closer to base rock than live rock. In terms of filtration does base rock work.
Nitrates continue to be a problem somewhere between 30 and 40 ppm. I'm hoping the smaller more frequent water changes will help. Any ideas here would be helpful as well.

I would surely add some more live rock.

Base rock will eventually have the filtering properties of live rock but, as with all reefkeeping - it will take some time.