New here! Hi and need some advice...

cjsparky

Market
Reaction score
Hi all! My name is Christian, and I am new to ARC. I was wondering if I may pick your brains for a little advice, as I am kind of tossing some possibilities back and forth...

The economy has put a slight damper on my spending, and a recent livestock die-off (don't know why) has me with my current system empty save for my one cleaner shrimp...what a trooper.

OK so first off...what I have, and what I need.

What I have I will sum up in pictures...

IMG_1862.jpg
alt="" />
This tank has a very rough stand, about 100+ lbs of LR, 80+ lbs LS, and 2 Koralia 5's.

IMG_1863.jpg
alt="" />
Here is a very basic sump...problem with this sump is the water level constantly changes because of evap/top off...so my skimmer dosnt work very well....Coralife Superskimmer 220.

I also have a 30 gallon quarentine tank (huge lesson learned) here:
IMG_1864.jpg
alt="" />
no big thing...just a heater and a hang on back filter....

Here is my problem...

Do I try to trade everything I have for a smaller all in one like a RSM or something of the sort...or do I keep going with mine, knowing that it will probably run without critters for another year or so...

IF I keep what I have...this is what I want to do...

1. Build a taller stand out of 1x4, 1x8 lumber, plywood, and skin it with a hardwood bead board...I would need some guidance here...

2. Build a matching canopy, which will eventually gain some Retro T5 lighting, as I can afford...was thinking I'd start with 4 x 39 T5 DIY...
(OR install a cheapo light fixture, and do a DIY led project down the road...I am leaning toward T5)

3. DIY a better sump....So I can have a dedicated skimmer chamber for a more uniform skim setting....

4. Start adding livestock again...Not sure about going with Angels, tangs, etc...or more reef friendly...that can be decided later I guess.

5. Eventually upgrade the skimmer...and add some LED spotlights for shimmer...