New Member needing help

Valstar

Reaction score
Hi All I have just got some zoathus, ( I’m new to the marine reef world so be nice)however they have stayed closed only a few open and don't seem to look good what could be the matter with them any help appreciated

Attachments

• 68D1750E-9564-4929-8437-DA9DC8A6D6AD.jpeg
    68D1750E-9564-4929-8437-DA9DC8A6D6AD.jpeg
    1.7 MB · Views: 48
Can you tell us:

How long has the tank been running?
What are your measurements for Temperature, Salinity, Ammonia, Nitrite, Nitrate, Phosphate ?

Perhaps Alkalinity, Calcium & Magnesium if you know them but with it being a new tank your levels on those 3 are likely just fine.

Do you have any fish, snails or crabs in the tank and did you start with all dry or live rock?

I would pretty much re-iterate everything @lmm1967 asked. We'd love to help troubleshoot the issue (we've all been there) but we need some additional info as a place to start.

Thankyou for your messages I’ve had it running since September we put clowns in at first they have been great, we’ve got a blenny in now and tang all been great. And got these last week. All levels have been great everytime I’ve checked.
Ammonia 0-0.25
Nitrate and Nitrite 0
PH 8.2
Salt levels just under 30

Honestly, the first thing that jumps out to me is the ammonia being present and the zero nitrate. Before I add any corals, I shoot for 0 ammonia and at least 5ppm nitrate. That way I know for sure that the bacteria present is processing through the entire nitrogen cycle. If I were you, I'd do a water change and add some Prime to neutralize the ammonia present.

Can anyone help me out here? Will adding Prime to neutralize the ammonia toxicity screw up the nitrogen cycle?