New setup help!

zanski

Market
Reaction score
Okay here is a list for my 75 let me know if im forgetting anything!

1. Skimmer (undecided suggestions welcome)
2. Heater
3. Mag 7
4. Sump
5. 4 Maxijet 1200's
6. Wavemaker
7. 2x150 watt MH retro
8. 4x65 watt power compact w/ 4 lunar's

I'm a noob so be easy! Missing anything, or would anyone change anything?

I would swap out the wavemaker and Maxi's for Tunze's or, if you're on a budget (like I am), some Seios. A $35-$40 (mail order) Seio will put out more water in a wider stream than two Maxi 1200's.

On Skimmers, I love my Euroreef, but even mail order a new one is out of the question. I've heard good things about Coralife's new skimmers.

Also, if you haven't budgetted for one yet, an RO/DI unit. I got a 50gpd RO/DI unit (Typhoon series) from Air Water Ice (
a>) off eBay and have been very happy with it.

George wrote: I would swap out the wavemaker and Maxi's for Tunze's or, if you're on a budget (like I am), some Seios. A $35-$40 (mail order) Seio will put out more water in a wider stream than two Maxi 1200's.

On Skimmers, I love my Euroreef, but even mail order a new one is out of the question. I've heard good things about Coralife's new skimmers.

Also, if you haven't budgetted for one yet, an RO/DI unit. I got a 50gpd RO/DI unit (Typhoon series) from Air Water Ice (http://www.airwaterice.com/">http://www.airwaterice.com/</a>) off eBay and have been very happy with it.[/QUOTE]

Good call on the RO/DI unit didnt even think of it... Although I would have when I tried to do my first water change! hahaha

Couple other things I thought of:

Extra powerhead and heater appropriate for a 10 or so gallon bucket to mix up water changes.

Little stuff: