New to a reef tank

Whatskillz

Supporting
Reaction score
So iv had a 75gal planted freshwater tank for some time. But I want to start a nano reef.
I built a custom 33gal rimless tank. I'm building a 100watt "reef led light" (with royal blue, violet, 10k white LEDs I got a few cyan aswell). Also built a canister filter.
I'm not sure how to start the tank.
Was thinking live rock and live sand. How and do I even have to cycle a reef tank?
I'm not sure if I want fish. Might add one or 2.
What do I need to do to start and make it successful

You basically cycle a reef tank the same way that you cycle a freshwater tank. Im new to the hobby as well. I finished my tank cycle about 2 months ago. The first livestock that I chose was a goby and pistol shrimp combo. It is awesome to see them live together. My first corals I got were Pulsing Xenias and some Zoas. They seem to be doing great and growing. Ive picked up a few more Zoas, an anemone, two clowns and I finaly got a SPS (Bird's Nest) and LPS (Hammerhead) from some fellow members. I havent had one bad experience from this community. Everyone is so helpful and nice. Ive had all of my questions and concerns answered. I can say that i have already started making friendships because of this hobby. We welcome you here.

You are welcome. Feel free to ask anything that you have a question about it. I know I might not be the one to answer but Im certain someone will have an answer for you.