Sally Lightfoot Danger?

jhutto

Reaction score
Guys,
Saw a posting a few weeks ago that warned of the potential dangers of a Sally Lightfoot (mine is probably 4 inches across) with small fish. I have had one in my 90 gallon for several months now and seems like no harm except his eating the algae as requested. I have a very young pair of Rod's Onyx clowns now living in my sump due to their small size. One is getting her second stripe and no bigger than the end of your finger. Other is slightly smaller. I have only flame angel, chromis, yellow and a kole tang along with a Royal Gramma in the tank. Is the Sally a danger to the clowns if I move them up to main tank? If so, at what size would they be safe? I have been raising these for almost two months and do not want something like the royal gramma or the Sally to eat them.

Joe

I can tell you that my Sally is about 4" across and I have NEVER seen her eat anything but algae. I have clown gobies and neon gobies in there with her as well as sexy shrimp and pom-pom crabs. Everything has been safe. I would worry more about the Gramma then the sally but that is just me.

If it were me, I'd say "when in doubt, leave it out." If your sump isn't going anywhere and the fish are happy there, I'd let them grow a little more just to be on the safe side.

It seems that everyone's tank is different and what is safe in one reefer's tank might be a disaster in yours and with the money invested in those particular fish, seems it would be ill-advised to rush it.

That being said, we have a Sally LF in a 125g and the crab has never bothered any fish. Fish are larger though and Sally will definitely pounce on a piece of meaty food on a skewer, literally swimming through the water to nab it. A tiny fish added to that 125g at this point might seem like a tasty morsel to ol' Sal.