T5's with SPS who is running them over there tank?

casper75

Market
Reaction score
was wondering who else besides me is running T5 in here with and SPS tank.

I have a tank that predominately SPS that I've been running T5 over for the past 2 years.

I've never measured it. I originally had 4 bulbs being overdriven by an Icecap 660 and 2 normally driven 54w bulbs over the tank but have since switched out the 660 for a 430 so now I have 2 overdriven bulbs and 4 normally driven. I was actually getting too much light with the 660 on the tank.

This is a 55g w/ a 6 bulb retro installed. 2 IceCap SLR reflectors and 4 SLS Tek reflectors (had to do that to be able to fit 6 over the 13" width of the 55), IceCap 430 driving the 2 bulbs in front to get maximum light to my clams in the sand bed and two Workhorse 5 ballasts driving the other 4 bulbs.

and Mike forgot to mention, his tank looks awesome. SPS growth is good and the color rendition is excellent.

I have a 6 bulb fixture on my 72-gal tank. I seem to be getting good growth and nice color.

What mix of bulbs do you guys use?

I am running a total of 16 48" T5's over my 240, 8 over driven and 8 normal driven.
Mya bulb are
4 URI SUPER ACTINIC
6 ATI AQUA BLUE
2 ATI AQUA SUN
2 URI 10K
2 GE 3000K
I am getting great par with this set up , on my sand bed I am getting readings at 203 and that 21" down and the bulbs are 8 1/2" of my water.

I am getting great par with this set up , on my sand bed I am getting readings at 203 and that 21" down and the bulbs are 8 1/2" of my water.

intersting I guess I never knew T5;s had a good par output like that. Can anyone put a pic of their tanks up so we can see how the corals are looking.

OK you T5 guys. I'm going to add actinic T5s to my 450G. I want it solely for dawn/dusk and actinic so I'd like the bulbs that makes the greens pop like VHO actinics do. What bulbs would you suggest?