Vacation feeding

woody0369

Reaction score
Hello all, I am new to the hobby (about 6 months) and have encountered an issue that I had not previously even thought of. I will be going out of town for a few days next month and am curious how you handle feedings? I have only ever feed frozen food to my fish but when I look online at the auto feeders they all feed pellets. I am not sure if this might be an issue with having never fed pellets before. What are some experiences, or recommendations for this? Thank you all in advance.

1 - find someone close to you that you can trust who either already knows or can follow very specific instructions. The club is definitely a way to find people close to you that can hopefully get to know your system.

2 - Don't feed them at all. Most fish will be fine for a couple of days. Unless the person you find for 1 knows fish, reefs and possibly even your set up very well, then they may end up doing more harm than good.

Those choices given by Dan are on target. Here is one additional consideration for you. I feed my tank frozen also. However, a few weeks before leaving town for a few days, I began feeding pellets in the evening after the main course of frozen earlier in the day. Just a few to begin with to get the fish used to them. Before I left town, the little buggers were eating pellets like crazy. I put an auto feeder on, kept an eye on the system with a camera that I installed.

Both above are great comments.